An Astrological Mandala: The Cycle of Transformations and its 360 Symbolic Phases

In stock
Product Details

ISBN: 978-1732650466

Available on Amazon

In the early 20th century, Marc Edmund Jones and a clairvoyant friend formulated the Sabian symbols in an attempt to produce a series of symbols for the degrees of the zodiac that would be relevant to contemporary students of astrology. Dane Rudhyar then expanded on the symbols, reinterpreting them to emphasize their character as a cyclic series. Rudhyar's model formalizes and reveals the archetypal meaning of 360 basic phases of human experience in a greater holistic context.

Since the book was first published in 1973, it has become a staple in many professional astrologers' toolkits. The images cultivated by Rudhyar are used for further contemplation of every degree of the zodiac. The images for each degree can be used to add insight to the meaning of the planets, the lunar nodes, or any significant point in the horoscope. Many astrologers now consult the Sabian symbols when interpreting progressions in order to reflect on the degree of progressed New Moon.

These symbols help expand astrological interpretation beyond the concrete and literal into the creative and imaginal realm, where meaning arises through image and story, opening us to the experience of conscious engagement with the creative unfolding of life.

Part reference book, part instructional manual on a symbolic underpinning of the entire zodiac, this book will serve any astrology lover in unlocking more of its great mysteries.

Save this product for later